Purchased from an Individual

Required Documents

To register a vehicle that was purchased from an individual, the buyer needs to supply the following:

  • An odometer statement is required if the vehicle is newer than 10 years old. Most titles provide a place for the odometer reading.
  • A title properly transferred from seller to buyer is required.
    • If title is not readily available, a bill of sale and insurance (in the new owner’s name) on the new vehicle will allow purchase of a temporary permit / registration.
    • If the title is not a Colorado title, a VIN Verification (DR2698) is required. A VIN verification is available from any Colorado law enforcement officer or Colorado dealer. The fee for the VIN verification performed through Archuleta County Sheriff’s Office will be $10 and collected by the Sheriff’s Office staff.
    • Older Colorado titles may require a notary. If the title has a place for a notary to sign, it needs to be notarized or a Statement of Transfer (in lieu of notarization of Colorado title) needs to be filled out (DR2445).
    • Notary may be required on out of state titles.
  • Proof of insurance is required and must state year, make, Vin, owner's name, and expiration. Proof of insurance includes:
    • Binder / letter from an insurance company on company letter
    • Declaration page
    • Valid insurance card

Contact Us

  1. Noreen Griego
    Chief Deputy County Clerk & Recorder
    Email

    Samantha Courtney
    Motor Vehicle Deputy

    449 San Juan St.
    P.O. Box 2589
    Pagosa Springs, CO 81147

    Ph: (970) 264-8350
    Fx: (970) 264-8357

    Hours


    Monday, Wednesday, Friday
    8:00 am - 4:00 pm

    Tuesday & Thursday
    9:30 am - 4:00 pm